Best Chromebox 2017 Review & Comparison Table


Best Chromebox 2017 Review & Comparison Table

Best 2017 Chromebox vs Chromebit Reviews Compared in “Made-Easy” Table-Format


2016 Best Chromebox


The “Best Chromebox 2017 Review & Comparison-Table” Rows, as below,…

…are Ordered by Processor Power (Fastest to Slowest):

Fastest CORE i7 CORE i3 Broadwell Haswell RockChip Slowest


Updated: June 2017

Best Chromebox 2017 Review & Comparison Table

CORE i7 - 4th-Gen (4600U - 2.1 GHz)

HP - Core i7

May 27, 2014
2.1 GHz: i7-4600U
4 GB/ 16 GB
N / BT
4.9 x 4.9 x 1.7 "
DELL-3010: Core i7

Oct 30, 2014
2.1 GHz: i7-4600U
4 GB/ 16 GB
AC / BT
4.9 x 4.9 x 1.7 "

CORE i3 - 4/5th-Gen (4/5000U Series - 1.7-2.0 GHz dual core)

Acer CXI2: Core i3

Sept 2, 2015
1.9 GHz: i3-5005U
8 GB / 16 GB
AC / BT
w/ USB Keyboard/Mouse
6.5 x 5.1 x 1.3"
Acer CXI: Core i3

Dec 13, 2015
1.9 GHz: i3-4005U
4 GB / 16 GB
N / BT
w/ USB Keyboard/Mouse
6.5 x 5.1 x 1.3"
Lenovo TC: Core i3

June 9, 2015
2.0 GHz i3-5005U
2 GB / 16 GB
AC / BT
7 x 7.2 x 1.36"

BROADWELL - 3rd-Gen Celeron (3205U - 1.5 GHz dual core)

Lenovo TC: Broadwell

Jan 16, 2016
1.5 GHz: Celeron 3205U
4 GB / 16 GB
AC / BT
7 x 7.2 x 1.36"
Acer CXI2-4GKM Broadwell

June 14, 2015
1.5 GHz: Celeron 3205U
4 GB / 16 GB
AC / BT
6.81 x 5.5 x 2.27"

HASWELL - 2nd-Gen Celeron (2955U - 1.4 GHz dual core)

Dell-3010 2955U

Oct 26, 2014
1.4 GHz Celeron 2955U
2 GB / 16 GB
N / BT
4.9 x 4.9 x 1.7"
ASUS-M0004U (2GB)

March 6, 2014
1.4 GHz Celeron 2955U
2 GB / 16 GB
N / BT
4.9 x 4.9 x 1.7"
Add ~ $40 more for a ...
Wireless Keyboard/Mouse

ASUS-M0004U Deluxe (4GB)

March 6, 2014
1.4 GHz Celeron 2955U
4 GB / 16 GB
N / BT
4.9 x 4.9 x 1.7"
HP K1L50UT

Sept 12,, 2014
1.4 GHz Celeron 2955U
4 GB / 16 GB
N / BT / various colors
4.9 x 4.9 x 1.7"

ROCKCHIP (RK3288 ARM - 1.8 GHz) CHROMEBIT( ultra-portable stick)

CHROMEBIT-B013C

Nov 17, 2015
1.8 GHz Rockchip RK3288
2 GB / 16 GB
AC / BT / One USB-2
4.8 x 0.7 x 1.2"; 2.7oz


Finding the Best Chromebox 2017 Review Tips:

A Chromebox (vs Chromebit) are True Desktop Workhorses of the Chrome Web-based Operating System Family….

…as opposed to a Chromebook — which is a great device for those who travel or need mobile devices.

Even a Celeron Haswell Chromebook work great for blogging, office work, browsing, google docs, research….w/ multiple tabs open.  No problem w/ youtube videos or streaming music.

For the last 2-3 years, I’ve used one HP Celeron Chromebox downstairs, parked near the kitchen table;  and another Asus Celeron Chromebox Upstairs, in my office.  

Only just recently in 2017, I upgraded the Asus Haswell Celeron, and purchased a new Chromebox Lenovo ThinkCentre Broadwell.  So I’ve brought the Asus to my work location and still use it heavily today.

These three devices account for probably 95% of my computer tasks — almost never needing or missing the power of a stronger and more powerful Mac, Windows, or Ubuntu machine.

The downstairs HP Chromebox is attached to the back of a very thin 23″ LED monitor (that is so light-weight that I can move it around from the floor in the corner of the kitchen to the table top without any effort; and with a push of the power button on the monitor and chromebox, is up and running in about 5 seconds).  Really, no more time than opening and starting up a Chromebook laptop.  

The only real “minor” negative is that with the Chromebox-monitor set-up, I still need an outlet to plug into (and a cord from the chromebox and the monitor). A minor issue because there is a wall outlet near my favorite work spot on the kitchen table,  Of course a Chromebook can run without being plugged in for a day or so – so no cords or outlets.  

The HP Chromebox “Bundle” that I got comes w/ a wireless keyboard/mouse which connects instantly when the chromebox is flipped on; and these are so small, light and mobile that they just hangout on the floor with the dormant chromebox-monitor when it is not in use.

The upstairs office area Lenovo Chromebox is dedicated for use at my large walking treadmill-desk work space.

It is used with a dual monitor set up.  These Haswell and i3 Chromebox units have a display port and hdmi port and can easily drive my two large 24″ Dell Ultra-Sharp Monitors (both monitors running at a very sharp 1920 x 1200 resolution).  

I did need to buy a separate HDMI/DVI cable and DisplayPort/HDMI cable to make these dual monitor/chromebox connections.  But I’m still amazed at the total pixels that can be display even from a lowly “2nd Gen Celeron Haswell” Chromebox.

The Lenovo Broadwell newest Chromebox that now am using as of 2017 is a little faster and does allow for more tabs to be open.

A Chromebox vs Chromebit is ideal for a fixed work station, but if you are trying to get the same large screen set up, then you really need to compare a Chromebox vs Chromebase.

For example, my Kitchen area Chromebox w/ Keyboard/Mouse Bundle + Thin 23″ LED 1080p monitor work great as my second Chromebox unit — but I can see how the Chromebase 22″ or 24″ all-in-one could be a bit more compact and would basically do the same thing.   

The Chromebase’s monitor has the Chromebox hardware integrated within — so no need to attach a 5x5x2″ Chromebox to the back of a separate monitor with velcro tape (ie: my HP Chromebox to my LED) or put a Monitor Vesa Mount on the back of a separate monitor (as one came with my Asus Chromebox unit).  

Unlike my Chromebox Bundles, the Chromebase ships with an “old-fashioned” wired (USB) keyboard/mouse –(ie: vs my HP Chromebox Bundle came with very long-lasting (battery powered) wireless keyboard/mouse — which I clearly like better – without the cords).   

However, I do like the fact that the Chromebase comes with an HD webcam on the front/top edge of it’s monitor (something I lack with my chromebox set-ups).  

So if you desire to do video chat, for example with google hangouts, this may be a factor to consider. 

For more Chromebase vs Chromebox Review 2017 Comparisons, feel free to check out the ChromeBase Table Page,

When I have some more time, I’ll post some photos of my Chromebox set-ups for you. 

For further reading about the inception and history of Chromeboxes (ie: also called “small form-factor PCs”), starting with the first commercially available Samsung 2012 release, — check out the Chromebox Article at Wikipedia.


Important Disclaimer:  Much time has been taken to organize this Chromebox Comparison Table information but still please cross-check anything you think is of critical importance before you buy to assure no mistakes are listed here and that our source information was not incorrect.  


Wishing you could compare and review these Chromebit vs Chromebox vs Chromebase vs Chromebook devices?

Look no farther.  I’ve plotted all the various 2017 Best Chromebox / base /bit devices compared vs the multitude of available Chromebooks on this “Master” Comparison Table — ranking them all from Fastest Processor to Slowest Processor Types from top to bottom.  

If this data is of interest to you…. then please check out this recently updated….

Clickable “Master” Chromebook & Chromebase Review 2017 Comparison Table Page & downloadable PDF:

best-chromebooks-2017-comparison-table-chart

Or… 

If you simply want to continue with more in-depth study of each Specific Chromebook Type Device,

You’ll find more more detailed spec comparisons these…

 Chromebook-Comparison “Shopping” Table Pages: 

11″   |  13″  |  14″  |  15″  |  Touch  |  Base  |  Printers  |  Resources  | Tips